PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

familyfarmer

Lurker
Mar 18, 2019
Hello from Sussex County Delaware. An oddly rural area amidst an otherwise endless array of suburbia and city. Along with the vastly forgot Eastern Shores of Maryland and Virginia, Sussex County might as well be Iowa cornfields on an island. We are placed on a peninsula nick named for the three states that reside here Delmarva (Del-Mar-Va). Although, technically a peninsula, Delmarva feels more like an island. Thanks to the Chesapeake and Delaware canal you cannot leave here without taking a bridge or a ferry. A lot of our farmland is being developed so that New Yorkers can harvest our beaches. Poultry, Lima beans, Melons, and corn are the mainstays of agriculture here. I am a first generation poultry farmer. Hung up my Caterpillar for a land Deed.
I’ve always enjoyed tobacco. I started out like most smoking cigarettes as a teenager. I soon branched out into cigars, chews, snuffs, etc. I acquired a cob pipe from a grand uncle sometime around junior year. I found driving my old pickup through the sprawling cypress swamps while clenching a pipe full of Carter Hall to be my metronome. I smoked that cob for some time, usually OTC blends. I smoked it for a few years and found myself favoring cigars until recently. I consider myself a connoisseur I enjoy reviewing whiskeys and cigars and I frequent a neat barbershop up state of me. You get a beer with a haircut, an old fashioned hot shave, and access to a smoking lounge that features the atmosphere of a gentlemen’s study. There is no shortage of fine elixirs their.