PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

plaindave

Lurker
Apr 30, 2016
Hello. I'm brand new to pipe smoking, so be gentle. :puffy: I'm just wondering if a Dr. Grabow Savoy would be considered to be a billiard type pipe.?

mackeson

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 29, 2016
depends

Unless I misremember, the Savoy is available in several shapes

mindglue

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 24, 2016
Hello,

Two new smokers can do some magic :) , look a pipe description from this link: http://www.tobaccopipes.com/dr-grabow-savoy-smooth-tobacco-pipe/

Looks like its a bent billiard

plaindave

Lurker
Apr 30, 2016
Hey thanks, guys! I've been "studying" about pipes in the past 3 hours, and I've learned that it is a bent billiard. :puffy: Now I'd like to know what degree of angles are the bends, i.e. 1/4 bent, 1/2 bent, etc. Thanks!

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I think descriptions of partial bends in pipes are estimates since they can be done in virtually infinite degrees. I guess the most fully bent is an Oom-Paul, or something like that. Many "bent" pipes have only the slightest bend, a minor curvature, but are still technically bent.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
The Savoy is a 1/2 bend. Here's an example of a 1/4 bend.
https://m.smokingpipes.com/pipes/new/savinelli/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=186676

plaindave

Lurker
Apr 30, 2016
Hey, again thanks! That's good info. :puffy: I think I'm already addicted. I have a Dr. Grabow Savoy smooth coming in tomorrow's mail. I guess that'll have to do until I can afford a nice one. haha

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
The two Dr. G. Savoys shown at tobaccopipes.com appear to be, and are listed as, billiards:
http://www.tobaccopipes.com/dr-grabow-savoy-tobacco-pipe-rustic/
This is the rustic and there is also a smooth, at the same price.

mackeson

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 29, 2016
oops, I guess I was very wrong. I thought that Savoy was just referring to the finish

mso489

Lifer