Big Troubles Keeping Tobbacco in Good Condition - Help!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jorico

Lurker
May 10, 2018
First of all, as this is my first post, I'll make a little presentation. I'm a pipe smoker living in Spain, it's now about 2 years since i've started the hobby. I'm glad to join this great community, hope to make at least some little contribution helping other newbies if i can, and, as a newbie myself, I have need of your knowledge already :oops: If you are so kind to take a couple of minutes to read along my issue, of course.
Well, given the difficulty of buying good tobbaccos here in Spain (aside from some European brands), i've made an order from an american tobbaco store. After 16 days i've got the bulk tobbaco stored in zip plastic bags. That very day I opened the 5 pouches to try the tobbaccos, which were of an excellent quality I have to say. After that, I closed the bags and put em on a table on a dark place.

Today, the day after, i was going to store em on mason jars, but as I opened the bags I noticed an HUGE decrease in the tobbaco's aroma, as it the blends were very mild.

So I proceeded to load a pipe with Nightcap to see if it was only my imagination. Unluckily, the tobbaco tasted much milder indeed, being almost unrecognizable from yesterday smoking.
Could it get spoilt in just about 24 hours?? If so, can anyone tell me what I did wrong? I'd hate to have this issue again in future adquisitions and can't understand what happened. I usually buy 2 ounces pouches here in spain, and they dont get too bad in the 2 weeks it takes to me to smoke them... Of course they are not like when opened the first day, but they didn't get almost unmoskable after hours opened...
Thank you very much in advance for your answers!

maker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 22, 2018