PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

64alex

Part of the Furniture Now
May 10, 2016
What do you think is the best tobacco for a Meerschaum? Virginia, Burley, English/Balkan, Aromatic? I am not talking about coloring properties, just about which tobacco, if any, is rendered best in a Meerschaum.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I'm new to Meers, but from Forums comments I'd say the point of Meers is that they render any blend with clarity.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
A meer will probably reveal the subtleties of Virginias and Orientals best, but briar has a lot going for it too. Personally I don't prefer one pipe material over the other when it comes to taste.

May 9, 2018
Raleigh, NC
To me, I think they're great for all blends. They don't absorb flavors of previously smoked blends, i.e. ghosting. They make it easier to taste all those subtle flavors that some blends have, like others have said. I really enjoy my Englishes and Balkans in mine, but burleys shine in it too, especially those that have little notes of cocoa with their nuttiness.

Reactions: OSOBUCO
Jan 8, 2013
I smoke everything in my meers. That's one of the great things about them. You can switch from one blend or blend type to another, one after the other, and multiple times a day, multiple times a week, with little to no resting, and little to no ghosting. And the more you smoke it, the more it's going to color.

renfield

Lifer
Oct 16, 2011
Kansas
The lack of character imparted by the meer sometimes reveals that a blend tastes better with the added note of the pipe. More often the opposite is true. All blends generally work well but a subtle straight Virginia on a cool day can really come into its own. To me Burley blends need the pipe notes, but that’s just my preference. Find out for yourself what works for you.
As others have said you can mix it up without concern.