PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

waznyf

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2012
Texas
I've been wanting to know how one can become more involved with the pipe smoking community.

As there are not any pipe clubs near me, I get a little restless not being able to get more involved.

I am a proud member of this community and I plan to attend the Kansas City pipe show, yet I'm still somewhat unsatisfied with my current contributions.

Although I may never be the notorious Kevin Godbee and I'm new to the hobby (did not intend for that to rhyme), I would still like to give back and possibly become more educated on the wonderful sport of pipe smoking.

Does anyone have any suggestions or examples through things that they do themselves?

Maybe it's the boy scout in me, but I have the desire to stand up and do more.

One idea I thought of while typing this was becoming a source of help for other new pipe smokers as I become educated myself. Funny how typing something out can get the engine running and allow for more thoughts to flow freely!

I also considered writing a book but I lack the creativity along with the attention span required to do that. :P

Anyway, maybe some of you can provide me with some guidance as I seek a remedy to this problem.

kyletheaviator

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 16, 2012
Go down to your local B&M, buy some tobacco, and sit around and enjoy a few bowls with the people who come in. There is always good conversation and company.

And of course helping and recruiting newbies is always a good one too!

philip

Lifer
Oct 13, 2011
Puget Sound
Be patient. After you have been a pipe smoker for a while, your increased knowledge of pipes, pipe smoking and the pipe community may help you to start a pipe club, write a blog, or even a book. The opportunities will become apparent to you as you become ready.