Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was listening to a special on the radio about how someone had posted some inflammatory remarks on a news site by an anonymous poster, and the person that was the subject of the post, subpoena'd the news site to reveal who the person was (and their IP address) and sued the poster for $400,000.
One of my customers, who is a trial attorney, came in, and I talked about this with her, mostly because it was on my mind from the radio show. She told me that this is becoming more common, here, especially when a business is raked through the coals on a site. She also mentioned one ebay user who sued.
I thought that I would mention this, because of posts that tend to target ebay users and companies on here. I am no lawyer, and I haven't seen anything terrible posted on here. But, you never know when someone is going to get their drawers in a wad over something and sue.
The freedom of speech stops at lies, and sometimes (in our own worlds) we think that we are in the right when we meet an impasse with someone in a business or personal transaction, and we want to vent or warn others. But, in the world of "others" the line between truth and flame get blurry.

So, we might want to reflect a minute before we post something that might end up getting blown up into something we don't want to deal with.
Just a friendly neighborhood warning. Carry on... :puffy:

dread

Lifer
Jun 19, 2013
It doesn't need to be a "lie," rather it simply needs do be inaccurate. Even if you think it is accurate, the other side may not, and the winner is the party that persuades the trier of fact as to the accuracy of the statement. So, yeah, you should be careful.

Dec 24, 2012
Definitely be careful, and if you are posting anything that someone might conceivably sue you over, make sure you always use a proxy server to mask your IP address. Come in through Russia preferably.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013