PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmhaines

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 5, 2016
CT
I've owned my own business since I was 15. Started off as a photographer, getting paid to do senior portraits for friends and friends-of-friends in high school. Had my first "art show" in the basement of the local library. Looking back with an objective eye, I was a shite photographer who was lucky enough to get some good pictures. Also, the local library doesn't count as a gallery. Not here anyway. So stop bragging, younger me.
By 17 I had transitioned into sculptures, while making and selling jewelry to back up my obsession with antique tools and materials. I'm a little less proud now, but I got all kinds of excited at the time: For the first time ever, I had a sculpture in a museum that summer. It was made as part of a fundraiser for blahblahblah and the museum was centered around clocks and watches, but I took the technicality in stride.
Just before 18 I set out on a new business adventure: glassworking. Saw someone melting glass with a torch and decided I could do that. Just over a month later I had my shop set up and I taught myself how to use it. Finally something I can kind of be a little proud of for real, as an adult. I am the world's best and most experienced small-batch glass recycler. Instead of using pre-made rods, I melt everything from car windows to telegraph pole insulators, and I do it well.
Spent a few years saving up, then got a loan to expand into my real passion: welding. That was last summer, bought a welder and taught myself how to TIG.
All through this evolution of nonsense, I met and started dating a lovely and intelligent gal. She went to MIT while I stayed here in CT and tried to make my way with torch and tool. Despite all odds, we succeeded in keeping together a long-distance relationship and now we're finally going to be moving in together.
In Minneapolis.