PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

madtohkin

Lurker
Apr 29, 2015
I am new to pipe smoking and have been looking for smell I remember as a kid when a family friend would light up a bowl. Suffice to say, no luck. I have tried only aro's so far. H&H Berry Nice and Caramel Apple Pie, 1Q, Cherry and Tropical Cavendish and Irish Cream and Rum Maple from Tobacco Galleria. Some people have told me to try half and half or other over the counter baccy. That's next. To me these aro's don't have much flavor just smell good in the pouch. I want something that tastes good. Heard Frog Morton is good but they have like 4 different blends. Any suggestions, maybe trade for a bowl of some FrogM?

Mar 30, 2014
wv
All smell and no flavor is the norm for a lot of aromatics. I recommend Lane 1Q for a great starter blend. It has a nice room note and tastes pretty good as well. I smoke it when we have company. win/win
Welcome to the forum and the hobby. Checkout the Pipe Smoking Basics & Beginner Questions section at the top of the main forum page.
http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/forum/pipe-smoking-basics-amp-beginner-questions
http://www.pipesandcigars.com/pipe-tobacco/39894/lane-1-q/

madtohkin

Lurker
Apr 29, 2015
I did try a blend from a local shop called 1Q. Don't know if it's the same as Lanes 1Q. Would u suggest the Frog Morton?

dulgunz

Can't Leave
Feb 11, 2015
Most B&M Shop's 1Q is not the same as Lane's; at least not the ones that I have been to. I would try some Frog Morton to see if you like it. Welcome to the brotherhood and the quest for finding that perfect tobacco is infinite with so many blends to try!

perlasca

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 11, 2015
Aromatics, to me are best enjoyed by not so much tasting the Cherry, Vanilla, Maple, or what have you, but by

the 'Flavor' one receives through the olfactory senses. When the smoke exits your mouth, it rises to the nose and that's the way I found to 'taste' and come to appreciate Aro's.