PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

davedan

Might Stick Around
Dec 31, 2015
Hi guys,
Complete noob here! Do artisan pipes smoke as well as say a Savinelli? There's a pretty good PEDER JEPPESEN pipe I'm eyeing up right now but not sure if it'll smoke as well as a good quality factory pipe like the Savinelli I just got? Are Artisan pipes just for collection purposes?
Thanks!

It really just depends... Some will make great smoking pipes, and some will make great looking pipes, and some will make both. A Peder is going to be a great smoking pipe. But, whether it is "better" than a Savinelli is subjective. In what way better are you expecting? I mean, a Savinelli is a pretty good pipe, but like a simple tool, there's only so much that can be done to make it better. Peders can range on attention to detail in the stem, slot and button. So, I would personally give a good look at the stem details, unless you just really like the looks. This doesn't seem important, but I give my better looking pipes more smokes, because I just enjoy them more.
All in all, it depends on what is important to you. Honestly, there's not going to be a drastic jump in luxury smokability in just being an artisan made pipe.

Sep 18, 2015
There are no guarantees on how any pipe will smoke. An Artisan is a one of a kind unique piece, this gives the maker the opportunity to pay more attention to details and Should result in a good smoking pipe, I think it depends on the skill of the maker.

I have three Artisan pipes none of which I would consider fully broke in yet, one of these has been a bitch to figure out, one I would consider very good and getting better and one that has been fantastic from the very first smoke.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014