PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013
This is an extraordinarily naive question, so please don't throw things at me; I'm still a newbie, despite being called "member." Quite simply, how do the non-aromatics differ from the aromatics, besides being minus the tongue-biting sweeteners? And of the non-aromatics, which would you recommend for coolness and ease of puffing as well as flavor? I've tried Carter Hall, which turned out to be a pleasant enough smoke, but based on what I hear on the forum there are dozens more. Currently I have shipping, on recommendation, Sutliff's Black Swan, Navigator, and Maple Street (the latter which I tried before and smoked without devastating consequences to my taste buds; it was a nice smoke). But what are generally judged the best? Also, if I might ask, limit your choices to a couple, difficult as I know it is, but I can only try a limited number at a time. Thanks!

petergunn

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 3, 2013
If you're getting constant tongue bite it may be your technic more than the tobacco, non-aros generally seem to be a harsher smoke to me and I prefer a cool mellow smoke unlike cigarettes and cigars.

05venturer

Lifer
Nov 25, 2012
Amery,WI
I would most definitely suggest trying "Frog Morton Cellar" which is a fine "crossover" tobacco, also for a good aro with some flavor and no bite "Butternut Burley"

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I find Lane's Q-1 and LL-7 quite well behaved in the bite department, though they are aromatics. I like Dunhill 965 as a

full flavored but not harsh English non-aro blend (along with some others, but I'm trying to simplify this). Some aromatics

that are nippy will calm down if you dry them out a little, like overnight or for a day or two. I just put them in a pottery bowl,

a few pipe bowl fulls at a time. I've not tried it, but for an economical English blend someone on Forums recently recommended