PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigboss93

Lurker
Jan 3, 2012
Howdy Forum! I'm new to this site, and I decided to join after having a few questions on pipe smoking. So far I've smokin aromatic pipe tobacco and so far they realy have a bland and slightly bitter taste, although they do have a good smell to them. But I'm looking for something that has a good taste along with a good smell. Granted most of the tobacco I have had are drug store tobacco such as Captain Black.
Thanks in advance!

Josh W.

bbauer

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 10, 2011
Livermore, CA
Hey bigboss.

I am pretty new to pipe smoking too. I started less than a year ago, but have only been serious about it for a few months. I too started with OTC tobacco such as Captain Black. My first piece of advice would be to try to find a Tobacco shop (B&M) near your house. If you do that, they will be able to not only recommend tobaccos, but they will probably let you smell, touch, and even sample some of their selection! This is what I found most helpful when starting.

My personal recommendation would be Frog Morton. It was the first non-aromatic I smoked and it was great. You should also try some of the other popular blends such as 1Q or anything else people on here recommend. Good luck, and happy puffing!

bbauer

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 10, 2011
Livermore, CA
i think it really just depends on your preference and palate. i have found some english blends to be really bland, while others are quite flavorful and same with virginias. but even when it comes to aromatics i find some are great and others just are not as good. like i said earlier just start tasting whatever you think might be good. worst case is you dont like it and you have an excuse to try something new.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
I'm also wondering do english or virginia blends give better flavor then aromatics?
First, welcome to the forum and the world of pipe smoking.