a deep cherry (vanilla, fruit, Amaretto, etc.) haze for newbies on their way

to dropping the habit or moving on to grown-up stuff. However, I would really

miss the occasional bowl of some of the subtler sweet stuff by way of

a little whisky dressing or a whiff of vanilla from black cavendish. I would

say something with an aromatic dimension is about one in three in my

rotation. I guess it's too late to grow out of it. I like a bowl of Granger now

and then, and though it is mostly burley, I think it is aromatic by "the

Wellman's process," which is some sort of secret dressing. Lowkey is

the best style for aromatics. Another guilt pleasure.

cajunguy

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 22, 2012
Metairie, LA
I've been smoking pipes for a few years, and though my favorites include Penzance and Black House (not really because they're more "mature" blends, but because my palette has broadened), I still enjoy my aromatics occasionally, two in particular: Altidus makes a blend called "Creme Brulee," and Lane has a tasty one named "BCA." The taste expires quickly, though, so I tend to dump the bowl before reaching bottom -- unlike my Balkans or VaPers.

supdog

Can't Leave
Nov 10, 2012
I don't think that everybody thinks that. A lot of people do though, and I think it's because most pipe smokers start off smoking aros. I did, but once I tasted my first english blend I was hooked on the latakia and orientals. Everyone is different and as the saying goes "Smoke what you like, and like what you smoke." There are several guys on here who have been smoking a pipe for years and they smoke mostly if not solely aros. After all this hobby is about pleasure and relaxation (at least for me). So smoke what pleases you and don't worry what other people think or say.

4dotsasieni

Jan 6, 2013
I've been smoking "aromatics" off and on for 40-something years. So I certainly don't think they're for novices only. And don't forget that Latakia too is, technically, an aromatic.

pstlpkr