Aquiring a new stem for my pipe (broken tenon)

SmokingPipes.com Updates

12 Fresh Johs Pipes
3 Fresh Il Cerchio Pipes
24 Fresh Brigham Pipes
12 Fresh Dunhill Pipes
24 Fresh Estate Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kefiren

Lurker
Dec 10, 2013
I'm relatively new to piping, and were very excited when I got my very first pipe.

Unfortunately, two days ago it suffered a blow, which caused the tenon to break, with one half stuck in the bowl and the other stuck in the mouthpiece.

I managed to get out the part of the tenon that got stuck in the bowl, and now find myself in need of a new mouthpiece.

However I'm not sure where to acquire a mouthpiece with a tenon like the one I previously had. Image of the pipestem

kefiren

Lurker
Dec 10, 2013
It was bought off Ebay, and of no known brand.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/270893091205?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2648

woodsroad

Lifer
Oct 10, 2013
SE PA USA
OK, it's one of the Ukrainian pipes. If you can get the broken tenon out, they should be able to send you a whole new stem. It isn't fitted to the pipe, as far as I can tell.
Be honest, tell them that you broke it.

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
A free replacement would be nice, but be careful you don't spend more money than it's worth trying to fix it.

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc
Yep, Norwood charges around $30 for a new stem. Better off investing that in a better pipe. I have not smoked one of those Ukranian pipes, but I suspect you can do a lot better for a bit more cash. Chalk it up to a lesson learned? Welcome btw, read up here before making your next pipe selection, we'll save you a lot of money and grief.

kefiren

Lurker
Dec 10, 2013
Thanks for all the great help. I will definitely check with more experienced buyers before buying a pipe again and do more thorough research on what I'm buying.

I'd rather look for something better, than fixing what I allready have.

Thanks again!