Anyone Ever See A Peterson System Pipe With An Aluminum Ferrule?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

agnosticpipe

Lifer
Nov 3, 2013
In the sticks in Mississippi
I came across an old "Made in England" pre-republic pipe that has an aluminum ferrule. It's on a system 3 pipe. I'm no expert on Petersons, and I can't seem to find any reference to this. It has the name Peterson stamped on it along with the clover, fox and tower emblems. It's very thin and light weight, and looks and feels nothing like the usual nickel or silver ferrules I've seen. The Made in England stamp on the pipe is in a circle so it seems like it could be dated to the late 30s to early 40s. I'm just about done restoring this pipe, but I kept thinking about the ferrule material. I'll try to post a pic later.
Anyone ever come across this type of ferrule?

agnosticpipe

Lifer
Nov 3, 2013
I guess nobody's got any info so far, but here's a pic if it helps.
img_0035-600x411.jpg

agnosticpipe

Lifer
Nov 3, 2013
Warren, it's not nickel, I've got pipes with both silver and nickel bands or ferrules, and they have a much different look. This metal is very lightweight and is a "white" color metal, rather than the warmer nickel or silver. I've got another pic that might show it better, and shows the damage to the shank that I had to repair.
img_0010-600x449.jpg

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Was aluminum used in pipes otherwise in the 1930's and 40's? That sounds unlikely to me, but I'm

no expert. The aluminum industry blossomed during World War Two in building aircraft and post-War

gave rise to aluminum canoes and lawn furniture and so many other consumer products. Before the War,

the embellishment of consumer products with aluminum was pretty rare ... or so I think.

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK