Anybody Here Having/Had a Hard Time With Forgetting How To Smoke Right?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 1, 2012
I must say I'm getting a little frustrated. I was doing well, I was getting good smokes fairly consistently but over the last month I've just been having the same trouble I had as a beginner. I've been back into smoking for about 7-8 months and I was starting to get the basics down and now I just can't seem to do anything right. I'm smoking too fast, it's getting to hot, I'm losing the flavor and it's starting to go back to mouth burn. A bowl will start perfectly but about halfway through, I forget everything I know and start puffing like mad and relighting every 5 minutes. It's getting bloody frustrating and it's not really enjoyable when it happens. I went from 1 bowl out of every 6 or so being OK to bad but now only 1 of every 3 is good.
Being a musician, I know it's just like a practice plateau but it doesn't make it any more enjoyable. In a month or so, I'll be back to doing more things right but for now it seems like smoking my pipe is getting less and less the relaxing ritual and more the frustration at the end of my day.
Anybody else have that problem? Any suggestions for getting past it? I've thought about taking some time off like a week or two and then start from scratch but I'm just not sure.
Thanks for reading.

tbradsim1

Lifer
Jan 14, 2012
Southwest Louisiana