Any pipe smoking math students/mathematicians out there?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

swillie777

Lurker
May 14, 2015
United States
If so let me know! What's your position, subject of interest, etc?
As for me: I'm an undergrad at LSU currently. My interest now lies in algebraic topology and differential geometry. I'll be taking my third course in algebraic topology this coming fall along with a course on Chern-Simons theory.

conlejm

Lifer
Mar 22, 2014
Twenty five years ago my undergraduate degree was in mathematics, passed my actuarial exams, got an MBA, and now serve in leadership at a Fortune 50, overseeing healthcare economics.

ctron

Lurker
Mar 25, 2013
I just finished my sophomore year. I'm focusing in on statistics and modeling, and beginning to look for actuarial exams.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I'm a mathematical dyslexic (I know, misnomer) but have always been interested in the relationship between mathematical talent and musical talent, which is, it seems, pronounced. I've also always been intrigued by the fact that the intellectual performance of mathematics is mirrored in the universe of physics and biology, etc. To such a degree that if mathematical proofs in astrophysics for example, are done correctly, they are true in the physical universe, in fact. I guess illustrating that galaxies and brain circuitry are made of the same stuff.

maxx

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 10, 2015