PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

pflan

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 3, 2013
We all talk about B&Ms and which ones we like or don't like. We share our stories about them and what we've learned or maybe even what they've learned from us.
But, I am curious, how many forum members actually own and operate B&Ms themselves?

lincolnsbark

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 11, 2013
Every B&M owner I meet I always encourage them to visit the forums but they always sort of just laugh. The online retailers do a great job and all seem to get what we need/want from a retailer; this forum can be a great resource if utilized.

pflan

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 3, 2013
Yeah, I am still relatively new at this.. Been going at pipe smoking for a year or two now.
I'm 23 and can definitely see myself picking up enough knowledge over time to open a B&M one day, according to what the economy and laws are looking like.

When I ask the B&M owners here if they come to the forums, they usually respond that after helping people all day 7 days a week pick out tobacco, pipes, and giving assistance to newbies, they just don't feel like going home and doing it on the computer.
No matter how passionate we are about our job, would you go home and do it for free ...for fun?

Parker, lets not confuse things from the other string of posts. My favorite B&M is The Briary where the owner knows his stuff, visits all of the pipe shows, and is a well known pipe maker himself. Skip Elliot, and one of his pipes was actually discussed on the radio show a few weeks ago.
The other douchebag that didn't know that tins don't "go bad" is a whole other place.LOL :wink:

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
No matter how passionate we are about our job, would you go home and do it for free ...for fun?
There is something to this. But I'd like to suggest that there is more to consider.