PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cjsachs

Lurker
May 5, 2013
Ohio
I am pretty new to pipe smoking and just bought a Leonessa Bent Dublin with a sandblast finish. Any pointers on how to get it broke in? What to do, and not to do? Also do you know of any problems I may run into, with this pipe in particular? Also I'd be glad to hear about any problems you faced when you first began smoking a pipe and how I can avoid them! :puffpipe:

flakyjakey

Lifer
Aug 21, 2013
Sound advice from Roth, a man who 'knows his onions' when it come to all matters relating to pipes and pipe tobaccos. My only additional comment is to immerse yourself in the forums here. Even experienced pipers can still learn a lot.

philobeddoe

Lifer
Oct 31, 2011
East Indiana
I agree with Roth, also when you are learning to smoke a pipe don't be afraid to put it down when it gets hot. If the wood gets too hot to hold, then put it down for a few minutes and relight later. Eventually you will get a good rhythm and be able to regulate the temp better, until then just put a hot pipe down, otherwise you run the risk of cracking the briar.

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com
Also I'd be glad to hear about any problems you faced when you first began smoking a pipe and how I can avoid them!
I first essayed pipe smoking in college. That was in the early '70's when long hair was the fashion and I had a long thick luxuriant crop of black wavy hair.
I was bent over the bowl of my pipe, earnestly puffing like crazy to get a bowl started, my hair dangling, when the flame from my wooden match flared upward and cremated a chunk of my hair.
Time has removed any concerns over a recurrence. My hairline has migrated to samurai contours.

boudreaux

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 7, 2013
Couldn't resist this opportunity for a little humor here...
Yes, plenty of advice!