PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

papawhisky

Lurker
Jan 29, 2019
Austin, Texas
"Where are you from, what do you smoke, how long have you been a pipe smoker, what is your favorite color, and how much do you like Mixture 79?"
Well, lets run through the basics: I'm originally from Florida, but I moved to Texas as fast as I could. Too many crazy people back home. Also, I don't like Pina Coladas and hate long walks on the beach (sand gets between your toes - icky). My favorite color is blue, and I'm an Aquarius, but don't get your hopes up, I'm happily married.
My screen name was bequeathed upon me as a sobriquet from my younger son and his posse (herd? gaggle? pack?) Pack of friends. Not sure why; I drink more rum than whisky...
I started smoking a pipe about 3 weeks ago, but I've been smoking cigars for about two years. I grew my first crop of tobacco last year (cigar varieties) and I also roll my own cigars using whole leaf tobacco (commercial and home grown).
I delved into pipes because I have about 40 lbs of whole leaf tobacco of both cigar and pipe varieties and thought it would be fun to make my own blends along with my cigars.
So far I've enjoyed an English blend and a few aromatics. And of course, a few of my own blends.
Looking forward to "meeting" everyone!

Steve

papawhisky

Lurker
Jan 29, 2019
Austin, Texas
Ashdigger: The color of her right eye!

pappymac

Lifer
Feb 26, 2015
As a friend once said, "Florida is a good place to be from... as far from it as I can get!"
Welcome, and thanks for the basics. What part of Texas did you settle in?
Edit: For the record, I spent 3 years in the Miami area in the mid-1980s. The only thing worse about being sent to Miami for three years was getting sent to New York City for 3 years after that.

trouttimes

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
Lake Martin, AL