PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fasthound

Lurker
Feb 14, 2016
As I said in my introduction thread, I am very new to the relaxation and enjoyment of pipe smoking. Knowing next to nothing on this endeavor and Wyoming being the pipe smoking desert that it is, I simply hit up the local "smoke shop" and bought a couple, H.I.S, pipes and some, Captain Black Tobacco, in a few different varieties. This would have been a good time for a mentor to have stepped in and said, "Hey, dum dum, don't do that". Anyhow, that is how I got started.
It did not take me long to figure out that I would have to go on a search of better quality, or this journey for enlightenment and relaxation would be very short lived. Looking around online I was able to find several places that not only had may different offerings of tobacco, but they also had pipes of all different shapes, sizes and prices. For the next several days I studied up and read all that I could on what might be best for someone who had not yet developed a particular taste in tobaccos. I also read through quite a few of the threads on here hoping a little wisdom might somehow makes its way my direction.
I ended up placing an order with, Pipes and Cigars, and since I had a friend who was in Boston for work, I prevailed upon her to visit, L.J. Peretti's. Today was like Christmas as everything came in all at once.
From, Pipes and Cigars, I ordered -

Bjarne Viking Denver Bent Egg

Missouri Meerschaum Country Gentleman Bent

The Davidoff Luxury Pipe Tobacco Sampler-

Davidoff Scottish Mixture Pipe Tobacco

Davidoff Danish Mixture Pipe Tobacco

Davidoff English Mixture Pipe Tobacco

Davidoff Royalty Pipe Tobacco

Davidoff Flake Medallions
When my friend went to, L.J. Peretti's, I told her to explain the situation and ask for their advice on what a new pipe smoker might best enjoy. She ended up picking four different varieties for me to try. -

No Name

Blend 432

Whiskey Cavendish

Cuban