PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jitterbugdude

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 25, 2014
On another thread there was a request from a Brit for books on the American Revolution that would help him understand the history of the war a little better. I have a similar request. I am a big student of the American Revolution but all of the material I have is written from the American point of view. The winners always get to write the history books so you don't always get an unbiased assessment of the situation.
So, Can anyone recommend any books written from the British point of view? I'd be particularly interested in any that were written by primary participants.

huntertrw

Lifer
Jul 23, 2014
The Lower Forty of Hill Country
At the time of his death in July 1969 author Corey Ford was conducting research on just such a book which was to be written from the British military's point of view. I am unaware of any which have actually been written.

davet

Lifer
May 9, 2015
Estey's Bridge N.B Canada
You might look for any books written about the Loyalist's that left for Canada and their stories. Many people settled in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia after leaving everything behind. Many arrived here in Fredericton and spent the first winter in tents.

jitterbugdude

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 25, 2014
There appear to be many books from the British perspective. The trick, like most books on history is trying to figure out which ones are BS or not. I ordered this book for starters...
https://www.amazon.com/Those-Damned-Rebels-American-Revolution/dp/0306809834/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1490540356&sr=8-1&keywords=damned+rebels

toobfreak

Lifer
Dec 19, 2016
If you cannot get an accurate expose' from the winners, can you expect to get one from the losers? The American colonialists were treated as second-class citizens and outcasts until finally they were forced to fight for independence.