PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

escioe

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 31, 2013
I'm a devotee of the GL Pease range, and I wanted to get everyone's experiences with aging the tobaccos in the Classic Collection.
The two that I have lots of experience with are Kensington and Blackpoint. Years back when I lived in Chicago I found a few tins of Kensington from 2003 on the shelves at Iwan Ries. It was good enough to get me to buy an old 2003 bag of Kensington from pipestud, which I broke up into 2 oz portions and jarred. I've smoked one every once in a while and it's only gotten deeper and more seamless. I'm down to my last jar of that 2003 bag, but I've got tins from 2007 and 2010 that I'm looking forward to.
In the last six months I've had two tins of 2007 Blackpoint and it's great. The coloring on this one in particular has gotten much darker, with those bright Virginias that are there fresh turning mahogany. I'm not the biggest fan of bright Virginias in general as I prefer the deeper flavors of reds, but they've faded a bit here into this really well-melded slurry of flavors. When I smoke this, it's what I imagine really old Balkan Sobranie 759 must taste like, though I have no real reference for that. There is a good deal of latakia here, but it's mixed in evenly with the other parts of the blend. The perique here is just enough make me sneeze once or twice when I smoke it, and adds a little bit strength to the blend.
I've had one tin of old Stratford, but that was a long time ago. I've got one left that I'm looking forward to.