PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

crpntr1

Lifer
Dec 18, 2011
Texas
As I'm quite new to pipe smoking,I'm curious, do all tobaccos benefit from aging? I've seen mentions of buying certain blends to cellar. I have an order in now im hoping to get before christmas so should i have doubled it to age some, or do only some blends require time?

jpbass

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 13, 2011
Baltimore, MD USA
The "pure" tobaccos, non-aromatic, English blends hold up the best. Aromatics will benefit from a "drying out' period, but will not have as long a shelf life.

jship079

Can't Leave
Oct 17, 2010
Id say no to burleys and aro's. Orientals and perquie yes but less desirable the one that gets the best with age is Virginia's but you can cellar any blend its all a matter of preference.

Jul 15, 2011
This is what I have been led to believe, so your mileage may vary. Aromatics don't really change all that much during aging. Virginia seems the age the best according to most, because over time the Virginias will mellow in the blend, and a Viriginia that smokes harsh may be a little easier on the pallate when aged. Latakia tends to lost some of its flavor when aged, but the role of Latakia in the blend will determine how well it will age. For instance, if the blend is a light English with little Latakia and more Viriginia, the blend will benefit from aging as the Latakia was not the main component and you wont have to worry about it losing its flavor. Now if blend is Latakia heavy, aging it might not be the best idea, because a lot of the flavor will be lost once aged. And as far as I have been led to believe, aging burley doesnt really have much of an effect on the taste either. Hope this helps!

tobakenist

Lifer
Jun 16, 2011
Middle England