PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

americaman

Part of the Furniture Now
May 1, 2019
Los Angeles, CA
I recently came across these estate pipes in my local B&M. I would love to hear some info on them, and whether you think I should buy them or hold off. Any advice would be appreciated.
This is an Ashton, I believe from the year 2000 (if I am wrong you can correct me). I am guessing it was made by Bill Taylor, which is what got me interested. There is thick carbon cake on the inside which I would have to clean out, and the stem has some bite marks. $165
Ed9svlS.jpg

vRE6diC.jpg

qxZXq4j.jpg

rNmEWt4.jpg

This is a Dunhill. Possibly year 1967, but I have no idea, I'm new to the Dunhill game. The bowl is absolutely clean. It has a replacement stem with a white spot, which makes it look 100% real. I would not be buying this to collect, but to smoke. $185
Rq27oIi.jpg

YGSIyzO.jpg

zFvaNxs.jpg

alaskanpiper

Enabler in Chief
May 23, 2019
Alaska
In my experience you can find dunhill pipes on ebay fairly regularly that are in good condition with original stems for quite a bit less than that. I have multiple 1960s bruyere group 4s and paid less than $150 for all of them. As low as $105, all in good condition when they arrived with no major flaws. I am not a shell briar fan, for purely aesthetic reasons, (only have one from 1928) but I see them sell on ebay all the time.
Even if they aren't in ideal condition, don't be afraid of a little stem oxidation or rim cake, most of the time it will come right off with the right methods.
Just have to hunt hard and hunt often, and have your final price in mind for that last second bid.
No idea on the Ashton. I only own one that I bought new a few months back. It's a great smoker, but in hindsight I should have been looking on the estate market.

burleyboy

Jul 30, 2019
Europe