PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

transpose

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 15, 2018
Hey all. I had a request to make a blend that tasted like chocolate mocha. Before you ask, this request was from an HR lady at work who has never even smoked a pipe. At first I thought I would just dump a drug store pouch into my press and give her that. But then I got to thinking...how would I add coffee flavoring to a blend?
I am still fairly new to home blending, pressing, and stoving. And, I don’t have any experience adding my own flavorings. If I want a specific note, I’ll just add a tobacco with that note already in it to the blend.
My first thought was to grind up coffee beans and add them in, but immediately thought about how that could be a really bad idea.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
What's with the double posts? We've had three or four of these recently.

transpose

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 15, 2018
I tried to delete my post in the tobacco forum. Didn’t work. Any advice?

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
The first thing I would try, if I were so inclined, is to grind up some coffee and create a sachet, and place it in a sealed jar with a Burley blend (because Burley picks up foreign flavors, or so I read).
You can search for coffee flavored blends at TobaccoReviews.com, but I think most are something of a disappointment, and in any event the topping/casing recipes are unavailable.
Russ Ouellette could probably suggest more direct approaches to creating a custom flavored blend -- it's how he started out.

winton

Lifer
Oct 20, 2010
There are multiple coffee flavored tobaccos on the market. Rather than try to discover the whole process, just do a google search and select one or more.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I like a fresh brewed pot of coffee with a cup to pour it in, with my bowl of a good non-aro blend.

transpose

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 15, 2018