PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

redone

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 4, 2018
Newbie here and I’m struggling to understand all the abbreviations. Looked for a sticky post but didn’t see one. Can someone post a quick link?
Thanks!

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Here are a few:

PAD -- pipe acquisition disorder

TAD -- tobacco acquisition disorder

OTC -- over the counter (tobaccos)

B&M -- brick and mortar, like a pipe shop

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
A lot of it will also be getting familiar with tobacco brands.
When a lazy person like me says," I'm smoking MB HH ODF RR."
In English, it means MacBaren HH series Old Dark Fired Ready Rubbed.
I once gave an IOU to the UPS for a COD. They called the FBI....
(OK, kids, go Google COD... :nana: )
jay-roger.jpg

woodsroad

Lifer
Oct 10, 2013
SE PA USA
I’m a non-fan of acronyms. They suck the meaning out of words. It’s a pain in the ass to parse acronyms on a pipe forum, but why in the world would a church do it? I’d never want to belong to a church called UCC or RC. When I was a kid, I always thought that the church was radio controlled.

Mar 30, 2014
wv
Yes it would be nice if the OP (original poster) spelled out the item of discussion just once in tobacco threads. I’m not familiar with all 10K blends on the market.
My favorite blend at the moment is JA BF. It’s great. You should try it.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
In posts, I sometimes spell out abbreviations for newcomers and just out of rebellion. The military and the government, but also most occupations, love to abbreviate, though it is usually unnecessary. If an organization or phrase is so long it needs abbreviation, usually a shorter term is needed, and available.

redone

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 4, 2018