PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

iamn8

Lifer
Sep 8, 2014
Moody, AL
My Porsche came with but one key. I lose keys and having a backup is absolutely necessary. It's a high security key with a computer chip inside without which the car won't start. So I call my local Porsche Dealer. Care to guess what a Porsche key costs?! Exactly!! It costs $500!!!! HOLY CRAP! I knew it would be expensive, but $500?!?! Know how much tobacco I could buy for that? $500 worth!!!

philobeddoe

Lifer
Oct 31, 2011
East Indiana
When I was a mechanic at a Land Rover dealership we had a saying....Its not that you can afford to buy a Land Rover, it's that you can afford to keep a Land Rover. Proper dealership maintenance costs on high end foreign cars are staggering to the uninitiated.

iamn8

Lifer
Sep 8, 2014
Moody, AL
Tom, that's hilarious!!! I ordered a Porsche branded lanyard not seconds before reading your post!! Mediocre minds think alike!! ;)
I expected things to cost more and did my research on maintenance and prices. A $500 key just never occurred to me. :(

May 4, 2015
It has a lesser chance of getting lost if it's attached to your body!
I'm about 3 years away from a fanny pack. For real.

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK
The reason I request and have have received 2 spare keys with my vehicle purchases after the price is set in stone. Both Ford and Mercedes readily provided same. Chipped keys are expensive. The blanks are expensive and the equipment needed to program them also. Hard to find a locksmith who has made the investment. There are some though. I doubt they are much less expensive than a dealer.

tinsel

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 23, 2015
Welcome to the world of European cars ...