PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmhaines

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 5, 2016
CT
The Ketchup Tobacco, through and through. A classic, none of you need a Newbie Review for this.
Too bad.
Packed it into my briar, once again amazed by the smell of ketchup. Lights nice and easy. Pre-light is, predictably, ketchup.
Start smoking, it gets creamy and smooth, a little sweet. Some bite, probably my fault.
I snork and get a nice little bit of spice, not peppery though.
Enjoying the whisps of hay and grass that sometimes wiggle through the smoke.
A good tobacco. No brainer.

josephcross

Dec 30, 2015
Im still a newb myself and have not tried the 5100 yet. I just bought a tin of St James Woods and was surprised at the ketchup smell. I have heard of McC's ketchup but having only tried Frog Morton Cellar, and FM on the Town, I didnt really pick up on the ketchup thing. Mostly Basma/Latakia and FM Cellar topping. I wasnt sure about it at first but after smoking a few bowls, I have found that the ketchup is not offensive to me at all.

hmhaines

Sep 5, 2016
CT
Never smoked any of the FM stuff, or the St. James Woods. 5100 is definitely worth a try, seems like a good, solid, standard tobacco.

josephcross

Dec 30, 2015
Yea, I bought the FM stuff when I first started out. I like latakia, but soon found that I love virginas and va/pers. They are not bad, but are not anything that I am reaching for.

skraps

Sep 9, 2015
You are on a blending tobacco odyssey, HM. Good for you. Smart to try out tobaccos on their own that are often components of other blends.
This one is another classic. I know plenty of guys that smoke this straight all the time and love it. Now take some of this, mix it with a little of that Black Cav, throw in a few pinches of C&D Cigar Leaf, and a pinch of Perique and you might have yourself something special!!

hmhaines

Sep 5, 2016
CT