PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

readix

Lurker
Oct 3, 2018
Hello!
I'm new to the pipe smoking and today I got my first pipe.

After my first smoke I noticed that I burned the pipe a little. It was quite windy outside so the flame was probably gently touching the inside of the pipe. Should I pay more attention to the flame or even slow down smoking or is it ok and it will eventualy start to build some cake?

readix

Lurker
Oct 3, 2018
Thank you! :) The inside of the bowl. I was trying to upload some pictures, but it's gonna take me a minute.

eaglewriter1

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 22, 2018
smoking_pipe

eaglewriter1

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 22, 2018
I would not worry about that, from the pictures that is just the wood darkening wich is normal and in time the whole inside of the bowl will be covered in a crust of carbon and be blackened. An beginning burn out would change the shape of the bowl and forming an indent and develop so called "spider webbing" in later stages. Relax a little^^ I would just not recommend smoking a pipe outside in windy conditions if at all possible.

I know this is terrible of me. We should take all posts and questions seriously, but I hesitate... to laugh, in case this is a serious question. And, if it is a serious question... I'm not sure how to answer it without sounding sarcastic. But, if you don't want the inside of a cup to get wet, you can't drink out of it. If you don't want the pipe to get burned, don't set things on fire inside of it.

readix

Lurker
Oct 3, 2018
Thank you very much! I tried to gather as much information as I could before I ordered the pipe and took up pipe smoking and I was really afraid of breaking it in. I will try to keep calm a bit.

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA
Yes, not to worry. You really want to blacken the entire chamber- the start of building cake.