PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

vespertillio

Can't Leave
Jul 9, 2012
Hey all,
I was checking Ebay and saw this auction for a GBD meerschaum. Upon closer inspection I really didn't notice any distinguishing GBD markings except for the box and pouch. The rest seem to point to a generic meerschaum made in Turkey. The look up of auctions with the name Hayim Pinhas brings up a few generics. Do you guys think this is a GBD or just a knockoff?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/VINTAGE-MEERSCHAUM-PIPE-GBD-POUCH-TURKEY-SMOKING-TOBACCO-DISPLAY-/230910537402?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35c3572eba

crpntr1

Lifer
Dec 18, 2011
Texas
and the plastic bag says made in turkey while the box says made in England...I dont think its real, but I'm no expert

sparroa

Lifer
Dec 8, 2010
I wouldn't bid on that unless you feel like gambling with $20.
I don't know anything about GBD made meerschaums (or if they even exist) but as Chris points out that pipe does NOT appear to belong to that box so you are a) dealing with an ignorant seller or b) dealing with an unscrupulous seller or c) dealing with a lazy seller...
Either way it is not a good idea unless you are just plain curious and satisfied just with the off chance that it is a passable smoker. I'd rather save up my money towards a good meerschaum instead.

frennchy11

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 28, 2011
I was looking at that one too. It didn't look to me like a bad meer, but it wasn't a GBD.

weezell

Lifer
Oct 12, 2011
VINTAGE MEERSCHAUM PIPE GBD POUCH TURKEY SMOKING TOBACCO DISPLAY....it is what it says,Vintage Meerschaum Pipe,GBD Pouch DISPLAY(It's all in how ya look at it) :wink:

vespertillio

Can't Leave
Jul 9, 2012