Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnparker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 22, 2013
Am about to put in a tobacco order, and I have never tried a Va/Per before. I know I have gotten advice on this subject here before, but to begin my potential "adventure" I just want enough tobacco to get a good idea. Had considered McClelland St. James Woods, but, rather than buying a tin of it, would an ounce of McClelland 2015 give me as good an idea of what Va/Per is all about?

Perique

Lifer
Sep 20, 2011
www.tobaccoreviews.com
My recommendations for an intro to VaPers are to get a tin of Escudo and a tin of Marlin Flake. The reasons are twofold. First, because these two contrasting blends will give you the full range of VaPer flavor from spicy (Escudo) to stewed plummy (Marlin). Second because these blends are so popular that you won't have any problem trading in the rare event you don't like them.
If you are set on only ordering a 1 oz bulk sample, I would recommend Peter Stokkebye Luxury Navy Flake. McClelland makes some good VaPers, and I enjoy St James Woods. But I think they are a poor introduction to the style due to the distinct McClelland fermented Virginia tang. That taste and aroma (that many describe as ketchupy) detract, IMO, from the fundamental VaPer experience and can overshadow the nuances of the blend style.

plumbersdope

Lurker
Mar 10, 2013
I would recommend Pease's Telegraph Hill as good intro. I would +1 for Escudo do too its easy too trade if you dont like. Its not one of my favorites fresh but age is very good.

moses

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 12, 2013
Biddeford
These are all excellent suggestions, and in the name of over complicating things, I would also recommend GL Pease Fillmore, Hearth & Home Louisiana Red, and Hearth & Home Anniversary Kake.
In a couple of words for each:

Fillmore: fairly hearty, yet mellow