PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
So I am thinking of what I want to smoke tonight so I grab my tin of Mac Baren Old Dark Fired. I open to see there is only one flake left and not enough for a full bowl. I grab my tin of Wessex Brigade Campaign Dark Flake that I know is pretty low and I figure that between the two I can get a full bowl. I cube cut them both and fill one of my Rad Davis Lovats and fire it up. I have never mixed two blends 50/50 before and it is an interesting smoke. The sweetness of the BCDF kinds of tames the strength and smokiness of the ODF. I like it but am not sure if I would mix them again unless I was in the same position as tonight. I know a bunch of you guys do all kinds of mixing but this is my first attempt. I kind of feel like I am cheating on each one of my favorites.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
bob, it was totally out of character for me tonight. lol
roth, I feel that when someone puts their heart and soul into a blend it should be smoked as is. Now that I am almost done with this bowl I probably will not mix these two again. It was like a duel of competing flavors and no one won. From now on I will just open a tin of the same blend when I cannot fill a bowl.

bobpnm

Lifer
Jul 24, 2012
Panama City, Florida
I'm just not that into tobacco mixology. I do the Wall/Hall thing and like it. Other than that, I will leave it to the talented few who have a passion for it and do it well.

wnghanglow

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 25, 2012
My thoughts on this are similar to those on a good scotch, these people are professionals that get payed well to mix and make something I want, who am I to say I can do it better? I am glad you had an enjoyable smoke though :)

ciderguy

Can't Leave
May 30, 2013
cigrmaster, welcome to the world of mixing!