PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

notapipe

Lurker
Jan 6, 2013
As a first order of business (this being my first post), hello :)
I have a few questions relating to a pipe I just purchased. It is an estate GBD Prehistoric 9437.
This constitutes what I consider to be my first "real" pipe. To this point I've tried a few corn cobs and a "basket" pipe or two. But I wanted to dip my toes a bit deeper into the pool so after doing some forum lurking, I saw people generally had very good things to say about GBDs ("Its a great smoker" seemed to be a common refrain). So I felt pretty good about going after a GBD.
I saw This link showing a relative quality scale of GBD pipes and Prehistoruic came in right at the middle of the road.
Add to this my unhealthy obsession with Dinosaurs (prehistoric) and it seemed like a perfect match. So I bought it.
As I alluded to earlier, I am quite new to pipe smoking, so I am not at all confident with my ability to accurately appraise a pipe I am holding in my hands, let alone one for which I only have a few pictures. Thus I am wondering, how much did I overpay for this pipe lol? The link to the auction is here. That being said, I'm not so concerned that I paid $15-$20 too much for it as that my first "real" pipe is a decent one.
Another question I had is in regards to tobacco selection. I've seen people say that some pipe shapes/sizes really make a certain blend "sing". Given the size and shape - looks like a medium/small bowl, with a straight stem, in a pot(?) shape? Any recommendations for what type of tobacco might do well in this pipe? There's a good chance that given my level of experience it won't matter anyway, I doubt I'll be making anything truly sing for some time yet but I figured I'd ask.

05venturer

Lifer
Nov 25, 2012
Amery,WI
This constitutes what I consider to be my first "real" pipe. To this point I've tried a few corn cobs and a "basket" pipe or two.
Really notapipe :?: