PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shikano53

Lifer
May 26, 2015
Well, this is all new to me and of course deciding to start smoking a pipe at age 61 came as quite a shock to my family. Especially since I have never smoked and don't drink. As a kid, several uncles smoked a pipe, and it kind of lodged in my memory as something I wouldn't mind trying. So here I am. So now the anti-smoking campaign has kicked off into high gear. And I know my wife, kids and grand kids all mean well and are genuinely concerned.
Any of you folks been there? My grand daughter is especially worried and probably the most vocal about it.

I realize that it is personal choice and being an adult. I smoke a bowl a day. Down from three bowls a day. I know, I know, I'm a newb and the learning curve will be ongoing which is part of my point. I kind of view all of this as a hobby and can see it becoming a passion kind of thing. Amongst other hobbies I have motorcycles and shooting being more or less right up at the top but the new pipe hobby is right up there. Purchasing tobacco, packing and lighting my pipe, attempting to learn and perfect how to do it correctly and of course trying to identify all the tobacco nuances is just so enjoyable.

Anyway, I am curious to know how long perhaps you have been smoking a pipe and your families reaction to it if you started at a a later age.

Thanks for any comments or opinions

Chris in Red Deer, Alberta

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
Hey Chris.
I've been smoking a pipe, again, since 2013. My last stint with the pipe was in college in the early 1990s. In the intervening years I smoked cigarettes to the tune of a pack a day. I quit cigarettes entirely in 2006 and hadn't smoked a thing until returning to the pipe.