PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

joshb83

Can't Leave
Feb 25, 2015
Hello everyone!
I'm a bit new to pipe smoking. As many of you, some of my best memories of my grandfather was sitting in his den and watching TV while he smoked a pipe and the great smells that came with it. I wish i could have inherited his pipe or known what type it was, but some things are lost to the past. Either way, it wasn't until last year that i picked up the habit myself. I started with a very general "no name" black briar pipe with a straight stem, not a fan of smoke in the face or eyes, but it took time to get used to. Ive since bought a few others. My favorite now is a green bowl, Peterson Churchwarden which i love. Also, i have one that i haven't seen many others of on pipe site, Its a metal bowl interior with a ceramic outer bowl. Any info on this is helpful. I'm here to learn as much as i can. a do have a few questions. 1) are there filters made for churchwarden pipes? 2) any idea of the metal bowl pipe i have? 3) i've found that i like the flavors of Captain black white label, and the smokiness of Carter Hall, any suggestions of like style tobacco? I appreciate all the help guys and glad to be part of the site.
Josh B

khartman

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 6, 2015
First off welcome! I know someone will have answers but pictures will definitely help with pipe ID.

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
Welcome, Josh!
I'm still relatively new myself, but in answer to your first question, if your churchwarden was designed to take a filter, it would have come with one. Peterson does make filtered pipes (the 9mm type favored in Europe), but I don't know whether they do a filtered churchwarden.