PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shortyeastcoast

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 28, 2013
Hey folks, does this look like mold to you?
The tobacco has always smelled a bit like dirty old basement, but :lol: I wasn't sure if that was normal. This was my first tin of it.

(click for bigger)

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
I'm not experienced enough to be able to tell mold from bloom. I am experienced enough to know that torching mold spores of unknown species and sucking it into your body is not a winning bet. If it were me, I would either pitch it, or offer it to one of our forum members who can evaluate it and make the call. It's a win-win: if it's no good, you don't get sick/die. If it's OK, someone gets free tobacco.

brewshooter

Lifer
Jun 2, 2011
It looks okay to me. The fact that it's spread out over the entire surface is actually probably a good sign. If there was a spot of something grayish or greenish in one place I would be concerned. 1792 has a pretty intense smell. Personally, I would likely smoke that with no concern, but it's your call ultimately, since you're the one who will be smoking it.

mikestanley

Lifer
May 10, 2009
Akron area of Ohio
The picture you show, while not bloom, is not mold. Its very common on the Lakeland flkes. I cannot remember what the explanation given is but it isn't anything to worry about. A lot of the 1792 I have come across does smell like a dirt floor basement. Its the problem I have with some of the Lakeland flakes. When you get a good batch, its great stuff. When you don't (and I think the dirt floor basement smell says not a great batch) its still smokeable but rather ordinary. I remember ordering a pound of Bob's Flake from Mars in 2010 (or 2008, cant remember) and Mike put a note in that this was a really good batch. He was right. Smelled like cocoa with a hint of latakia. To me, 1792 is best when you smell the Tonka bean topping.
My 2 cents
Mike S.

jcsoldit

Lifer
Mar 27, 2010