PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
I have been keeping a pocket notebook for a couple years. I have a terrible memory for a 30 year old and it seriously helps with that. I also started keeping a physical paper planner a couple years ago to help with dates and times. I find it easier to remember, of I write it down.

My favorite notebook is the Midori line of notebook systems. I can keep everything I need all in one leather cover. Other than that I like moleskines as well. I've filled many of those up through the years.
I also use a filofax, that was my calander, but I moved the calander to the Midori, because it's smaller.

Also I like pens. I don't know why, but it's one of my meager collections. The Parker jotter ballpoint is probably my favorite everyday pen, but I have a few mid-range fountain pens ( including cross, lamy, and pilot).

I'm sure you old geezer pipe smokers are with me on this. Lemme see em!

Last edited:

hawky454

Lifer
Feb 11, 2016
Austin, TX
This is one I just recently bought. I love the feel and the look of the leather, I think it will really develop a nice patina.

I’d be into collecting pens if I didn’t spend all my free money on tobacco. I have made a few on the lathe a long time ago but I ended up giving them away as gifts (pens make a great present). I would like to get into fountain pens someday.

lawdawg

Lifer
Aug 25, 2016
At work in my office, I prefer technology over analog. We've got an on-site server, as well as offsite backup, plus paper backups of the most important stuff. The technology makes it much easier to review and search various documents in a much shorter time. It's just overall more efficient.

However, in my personal life, I heat my house with wood (when I'm home), drive a manual truck, and hunt with a 75 year old American-made shotgun, so I understand the sentiment.

hawky454

Lifer
Feb 11, 2016
Austin, TX