PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patrick_Green

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 25, 2019
Texas
Hello everyone,

I am new to pipe smoking, and am currently working on avoiding tounge bite... I make sure to let my tobacco dry before smoking, and attempt to keep moisture out of the pipe.

I also have been experimenting with packing methods to avoid my packing being too tight. I like the three stage method best so far. (Pack some, push it like you're shaking a childs hand, pack some more push like your shaking a womans hand, and pack yet again with with the strength of shaking a gentlemans hand.)

Despite all this I still get mild tounge bite, though it is getting better. Any advice you have would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Pat

Reactions: Chasing Embers

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
push it like you're shaking a childs hand, pack some more push like your shaking a womans hand, and pack yet again with with the strength of shaking a gentlemans hand.
Get a good image of how to do that.........now forget it. Fill the bowl until just slightly below the rim if the pipe until the entire pack is firm, but a little springy. Imagine pressing your finger against an uncooked steak or a stale sponge cake. Next issue would be lighting. Don't try to start an inferno, just make sure the full surface of the tobacco is lit without trying to draw the flame to the bottom of the bowl. When drawing, focus more on creating enough of a vacuum with your mouth to coax the smoke out versus forcibly drawing it out. Another issue may be your tobacco. If you're starting out with flavored blends, you're going to get a raw tongue and no flavor until you have packing, lighting, and smoking cadence down.

Dusk

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 8, 2019
Undah Da Sea