Status
Not open for further replies.

Treebeerd

Lurker
Nov 27, 2019
Middle Earth Maryland
Hi Friends.
This is my first post into the forum.
I have been smoking for just a couple of months after a very long hiatus from a brief stint (another story though).
As I returned, like many newbies, I jumped in with aromatics and I will always probably lean that way as I do truly enjoy a nice aroma as do the people around me.
That said, not knowing exactly what I was doing, on an impulse, I bought a tin of Mac Barens Plumcake thinking it was going to be very aromatic (names can be so misleading).
Upon trying it for the first time as a pure heavy aeromatic smoker, Mac Barens was a shock and I didn't like it at all - so I put it to the side.
Fast forward about a month...
After reading more on this forum and watching reviews of tobaccos gaining more understanding and having my thoughts recalibrated (specifically on the Plumcake), I went back last evening and had a big full bowl of the Mac Barens in my Savinelli 673 KS. Oops - I liked it although compared to the aromatics I have been smoking, definitely had a big nicotine hit that threw me a bit (I am sure I will adjust).
After more learning, it seems to me that this tobacco may fall into an unusual area in that aromatic smokers don't really view this as an aromatic while non-aeromatic smokers do view this as an aromatic. So to my mind and the way I am currently looking at tobaccos from my neophyte perspective, I would define this as a "transitional" type tobacco going from aeromatic into more Virginia based.
This all said, and the reason for this long first post, can the good folks here provide any recommendations on similar to tobaccos that you would consider similar to the Mac Barens Plumcake as I would like to explore more what I might say are aromatic Virginias?
Thanks very much for taking the time to read my story and for any advice.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014