PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

eolverine

Lurker
Mar 23, 2014
Canada
So I've been smoking cobs regularly for a few months now, and I recently decided to step up my game so I bought a briar pipe. Its a Brigham, since they're easy to find in Canada, and they're in my price range. I got it home, and it was one of the best smokes I've ever had, but when I was cleaning up afterwards I noticed that when swabbing around the rim some of the stain came off onto my q-tip. I tested an area near the bottom of the pipe and the same thing happened. I'm only using my saliva, as they say you should to remove the tar from the rim. Is this normal for a new pipe? And if not, how can i fix it? I love the pipe, but the last thing I want is it losing its colour.

shutterbug

Can't Leave
Apr 12, 2013
I'll take an educated guess and say it's a Voyageur series.

There have been a few of us complaining about the Voyageur and the red stain that comes off of a cleaning from it. It seems to be an issue with that series.

Sooner or later the residual stain stops coming off, and you're good to go.

Do a search in the forums search bar, and you'll come up with a lot of different solutions to this issue.
Shutterbug

eolverine

Lurker
Mar 23, 2014
Canada
Edit: my pipe is from the Algonquin series, not the voyager. Though I'm sure that what you said probably applies to both.

murf

Can't Leave
Mar 1, 2013
I've had this problem with a few of my pipes as well. A Savinelli Morino is one that immediately comes to mind. Some suggestions I've seen are:
-use some "nose oil" to rub it on the rim. Take your finger and get the oil where your nose meets your cheek/upper lip area and rub it on the rim.
-wet the rim with saliva before lighting to prevent burning the rim while lighting.
-don't fill up your pipe all the way to the brim. Tobacco expands when lit and a piece might leave some tar on the rim.