PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

misterkrey

Lurker
Apr 25, 2013
Hey everyone. My name is Krey. I'm relatively new to smoking pipes. I started just a few months ago but have smoked probably around 100 times. My pipe has cracks around the hole. I don't know what this means, if it's a burnout starting or what. Please help!!! All help is very much appreciated

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
Hey Krey, welcome to the forum!! I think you'll find a lot of help here, once folks can diagnose your problem from photos.
Here are the instructions on posting pics: http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/instructions-for-posting-pictures
Can't wait to try and help.
-- Pat

sergemoat

Can't Leave
Oct 15, 2011
You might be smoking too hot, but it also seems like the pipe may have a weak spot due to the grain.

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
You might be smoking too hot, but it also seems like the pipe may have a weak spot due to the grain.
+1 That's what I thought too.
What's the pipe made of Krey?
-- Pat

misterkrey

Lurker
Apr 25, 2013
So should I not puff so often? I'm still kind of new so I don't know all of the lingo yet. Is there any way to repair it and will it affect anything besides probably getting another pipe soon?

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
You might consider smoking more slowly.
Does it get really hot while you smoke? Too hot to hold?
-- Pat

teufelhund

Lifer
Mar 5, 2013
St. Louis, MO
It looks like it should still work fine since its around the draft hole; you may end up sucking more bits of baccy through if it's a filterless pipe. You only need to worry about replacing if cracks appear within the bowl itself.I was taught that it should only smoulder in the bowl; i.e. smoke should only appear when you take in a draw. That helps me slow down and keep it cool.

misterkrey

Lurker
Apr 25, 2013