PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sep 19, 2019
Holla. I've lurked on this forum for a couple months now, as I've gotten more serious about pipe-smoking just recently, and I should thank everybody involved here for the help I've received. It's been nice because I don't have any older people in my life who can teach me how to do this (I actually taught my cigar-loving father how to pack a bowl recently). I'm still a beginner and have a lot to learn, but I'm starting to get the hang of this stuff.

My question now is regarding sliced flake tobacco. I recently bought P&Cs deal on a tin of Bengal Slices and tin of Plum Pudding, and I've been enjoying them both very deeply. The Plum Pudding is especially appreciated.

I've been preparing the tobacco by rubbing them out somewhat finely and packing it like I would a ribbon or loose cut. However, I've heard of people inserting slices directly in their bowls. Does that work? Again, I'm pretty to new to this whole thing.

lightmybriar

Lifer
Mar 11, 2014
Hello there!

I don’t know that people pack slices directly into their pipes so much as they do “flakes,” which are a different cut. I believe slices (basically thin cakes) are intended to be rubbed out as you are doing. Others will chime in!

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
Holla. I've lurked on this forum for a couple months now, as I've gotten more serious about pipe-smoking just recently, and I should thank everybody involved here for the help I've received. It's been nice because I don't have any older people in my life who can teach me how to do this (I actually taught my cigar-loving father how to pack a bowl recently). I'm still a beginner and have a lot to learn, but I'm starting to get the hang of this stuff.