PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fnord

Lifer
Dec 28, 2011
Topeka, KS
This is my first attempt at a tobacco review so please bear with me as I fumble my way through it. I’ve been able to hold my own for years when it comes to conversing about red wine and bourbon, but this tobacco thing has always eluded me. You read a review, overhear folks talking or somebody suggests a blend and I’d give it a whirl. If I liked it, swell. I’d lay in a supply.
On that note, I recently purchased a very light Aromatic from Heroes and Legacies in Austin, TX. It’s named Dry Cider. Now, I’m primarily an English guy: anything from light to heavy. I love the campfire smoky goodness of Latakia and have learned to appreciate the many strains of Orientals from the Occident. Aromatics, which most of us probably started out smoking, gave way many years ago in my preferences tab. I guess it’s like drinking adult beverages: rum and cokes or 7s and 7 eventually evolve to a couple of fingers of your potable of choice on the rocks or with a splash.
I came by a sample of Dry Cider during an exchange with Baron who had picked it up from Austin resident Belgian Mick. I opened up the baggie and was met with this faint apple aroma that reminded me of so many childhood Fall seasons in the Ozarks of Missouri: raking mounds of oak leaves, maple trees on fire, Friday night football games, cooler temperatures and sweet red and yellow apples overflowing the family snack bowl.