PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nevadablue

Lifer
Jun 5, 2017
The other thread had some issues that made it impossible for me to see the posts properly. Let's try this again.
I am slowly realizing that my past hobbies can be incorporated into the current one... pipes.
Some years ago I took up wood carving. Another of my forays into new territory. I am no expert, but it is fun to carve bits of wood into rustic and yet useful items.
I modified one of my grandpa's pocket knives into a specialized carving knife. All of the blades are razor sharp, and the one shown in this pic is flat on the back side, tapered on the front, for a right handed carver... ME.
38319124531_2067e4efb6_k_d.jpg

I am going to try carving some wood sprite tampers. I found this example of someone's work on the net, thanks to the unknown owner of the pic for the inspiration.
37604249394_6e6e4a91e9_z_d.jpg

And then I found this tiny, blurry pic.
26545716959_f8265dd279_o_d.jpg

And decided, why not? Should be a fun exercise. This is the start...
37603753364_ed808c7198_z_d.jpg

nevadablue

Lifer
Jun 5, 2017
Closer to Santa I think. Maybe the real wood sprite will come forward... 8)
No, no income... that ruins hobbies, IMO. This and the others will be for members of the forum and for me.

weezell

Lifer
Oct 12, 2011
The image of the man is/was?? I think a member here...Now will drive me crazy trying to think who it was....

Jan 8, 2013
Awesome! I've seen wood sprites carved into walking sticks, canes, trees... but never a tamper. And a woodsprite tamper would be awesome! Looking forward to seeing this one finished :puffy:

fitzy

Lifer
Nov 13, 2012
NY
Those would be Jason Robards tampers.
http://www.hedgerow-crafts.com/pipe-tampers/
His name here is Klause.
This is the one I got from him:
Jason-Robards-Hedgerow-Crafts28.jpg

nevadablue

Lifer
Jun 5, 2017