PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Worknman

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 23, 2019
Is it normal for an opened tin of latakia to go flat after a month? I wanted to try an english blend so I opened up some Quiet Nights 4 or 5 weeks ago. The first few bowls had a pleasantly strong flavor but I jarred it up and left it alone for about a month and now the taste has gone away for me almost completely. I have to retrohale to get anything out of it and even then its not much.

Last edited:

Worknman

Sep 23, 2019
Did the jar not seal? I have some ten year old Pirate Kake that will still punch you in the face.
Im new to pipe smoking but is there anything special I need to do to get the jar to seal? Its a regular mason type jar with a ring, I screwed it on pretty tight I think.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Im new to pipe smoking but is there anything special I need to do to get the jar to seal? Its a regular mason type jar with a ring, I screwed it on pretty tight I think.
Sounds like you're doing it right.

1 Does the tobacco smell like you remember?

2 Eat anything spicy before smoking?

3 Being affected by seasonal allergies?

Reactions: aquadoc

perdurabo

Lifer
Jun 3, 2015
I actually had this happen to a tin of McClelland’s Frog Morton on the Bayou. The shit was awesome, then like a month or two later, ptthhhh. Nothing. CardBoard. I was pissed. ??‍♂️

Worknman

Sep 23, 2019
I did eat some spicy food an hour before smoking. The tin note seems only slightly subdued but I can still smell the latakia.

I smoke outside and its extremely humid tonight, maybe that makes a difference?
The only other variable now that I think about it is I switched pipes. The original pipe I smoked it in was very new and didn't have much of a cake. Maybe thats why it was stronger. I switched pipes because I decided to dedicate a different pipe for english blends. It happens to be an olive wood pipe if that makes any difference.