Status
Not open for further replies.

Dutch Pipe Smoker

(arno665)
Apr 3, 2013
The Netherlands
dutchpipesmoker.com
The article lost me here.

RIIIIIIIIGHT. New guys paying hundreds just to try it are in for such a let down.

I'm finding that most are.

Ah... "Yesterday I smoked Esoterica Tobacciana Penzance! The tobacco that you enjoy extra long no matter what you eat and how well you brush your teeth."
What I meant was that the taste long lingers in the mouth. I would not necessary consider that a let down ;)
But jeeez.... That review was one of the first I ever did, I was a pipe smoking rookie. Nowadays I have to be totally honest I prefer a well aged GL Pease latakia blend. Penzance is good but it lacks a certain punch, even with age on it. Regardless I very much like to smoke it once in a while. Especially in a medium sized prince pipe paired with a glass of Lagavulin whisky.

I have never really cared about the hype. I was still able to get Penance at The Briary when I first started smoking pipes, before I knew there was a hype.

Hype is just that, hype. But, I know many smokers who choose Penzance, not because someone has told that it is good, but because they just like it. If someone wants to claim that we like it because someone told us to, I really don't give a booger.

I am not a regular latakia smoker, just seasonal, and sporadic at best. And, I have never looked for the "BEST" of anything, because I know that "best" is a bullshit term with no meaning. I don't give a booger about what someone sees as best, nor even if they hate it.

What I like about Penzance is that it has an incense like quality that I enjoy. Can I get an incense like quality from other Balkans... sure. Can I get this exact incense like quality from another blend... no. (not in my opinion anyways) Can you?... I don't give a rat's ass. Sure, you can get an exact taste from smoking pencil shavings... good for you.