High and Dry (my quest for the holy toast)

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

David_Lawrence

Might Stick Around
Sep 25, 2019
To introduce myself first, I'm extremely new to the world of pipe smoking and collecting, though you wouldn't know it from my increasingly respectable collection. It didn't take me long to learn that aromatics aren't my thing, at least not in comparison with the more organic charm of straight Virginias, Balkans and Orientals. If I'm saying that right.

What really lit my fire though was the mixture, as recommended by a user on TobaccoReviews, of Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake and the Skiff Mixture of the same company. Combined, it has been the closest I've came to the flavour I admired most - Fribourg & Treyer's High Dry Toast, which is not a pipe tobacco at all but a nasal snuff, and one leagues apart from the many others I sampled years ago.

Unfortunately though, even this spicy, smokey combination of Skiff (primarily Turkish & Latakia) and Virginia flake is still a long way away from the fabled Toast, which I'm not really fluent enough to describe. Any fellow English (and presumably British and Irish more broadly) users may get what I mean when I say it reminds me of my grandad, that is my English grandfather not my Barbadian grandfather, who was of course a pipe smoker and a very old one at that—being born in the 1910s and living into hte 1990s, but this isn't exactly a universal point of reference.