PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I know, some do, some don't. Arguments on either side. One of the most ardent refusals I've heard was from a senior scientist and erstwhile acting director of the National Institutes of Health who had worked on flu vaccines, so take that for what it's worth. Knowing both arguments, I've had flu shots regularly over the years hoping it either is efficacious and/or that it was good placebo, which is sometimes as good as efficacious. So far, so good, with the flu. My object in posting this is, if you "do" flu shots, late September or early October seems to be the most effective timing in terms of getting best immunity according to the CDC site, though they'd rather you get it earlier or later than not at all, all the way into the flu season in late winter. I won't try to give much advice on this, since I'm not a pro on the subject, but we're getting to prime time if you're getting a flu shot. Kids and older people benefit the most, since they have the worst time if they catch the flu.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Wow, Cosmic, that's a really early case. Fair warning to the rest of us. Anyone who works in a health facility or in any way with the public ought to think about a flu shot, get one if you will. Most flu is airborne from coughs and sneezes and lingers on doorknobs etc. Cosmic's description is about right.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
The science on vaccines in general is pretty strong. Not much problem with smallpox most places these days, for example. When many people participate in being vaccinated, it dampens the incidence of a particular "bug" in general.

pipestud

Lifer
Dec 6, 2012
Robinson, TX.
Flue shot - You bet, every year. It may or may not work but if it does, I want it!
Shingles Shot - You bet. It may or may not work but if it does, I want it!
Pneumonia Shot - You bet. It may or may not work but if it does, I want it!