PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

techie

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 20, 2018
I fired up my brand new MM Charles Towne Cobbler today with G&H Scotch Mixture. I first filled the bowl about halfway (saw a recommendation to do this somewhere for the first several bowls). That was a disaster. Constant relights, so I thought "forget that!" and loaded the next bowl full as I have been doing with my briars. It was ok for about the first half, then it was back to constant relights. The tobacco was nearly crunchy dry, so I don't believe it was the tobacco. I tried not to smoke it like a chimney but use light sipping draws at an easy pace, but I just couldn't keep it lit.
So, I am a beginner, but I've been doing pretty well with my briars lately. Suggestions?

May 9, 2018
Raleigh, NC
I think the suggestion to pack half a bowl was more or less to help break it in a bit. The shank that extends into the bowl is still wood and you need to basically burn a bowl down to it in order to get the wood charred so that future bowls won't impart that burned wood taste. As far as the relights, I could only assume that you packed too tightly. For a "half" bowl, I will scoop and fill to the brim, then pack it down about 2/3's of the way to start. You can always tamp it down more as you need.
I liked this link when I first got my cobs. Didn't find it until I had already broken them in, but found the information helpful. How To Break In A Corn Cob Pipe

techie

Jul 20, 2018
Thank you! I did read that article, as well as the very long one on Pipedia "Complete Corn Cob Primer". I'm sure it's just me. I'll keep working on it. I do like the MM cob.

May 9, 2018
Raleigh, NC
Oh it's a great smoker. I want more of them, just because they feel so comfortable to smoke. I'm not afraid of putting anything in it at all....except for CB Grape, I reckon, that one I wouldn't put in it, but anything else at all, I wouldn't think twice about smoking in it.

May 8, 2017