PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
So there I was, out on my back patio last night with my meerschaum and some Frog Morton "Across the Pond", scribbling down some ideas for short stories that I want to get outlined for an upcoming writing seminar, and it occurred to me that for research purposes, I should probably try some rope or twist tobacco so that I'm familiar with the additional steps in prepping said tobacco, as one of the (somewhat minor) characters I'm playing around with is a pipe smoker among a crew of tobacco-chewers on an airship (so not a lot of pipe smoking going on except when this character's "at liberty")...
So - as a relative newbie myself, I've not requested a lot of tobacco recommendations as my palate is still under development, and I can find a lot of recommendations by trawling the older threads. Ropes, however, appear to be very much a different sort of thing altogether (based on the threads I've found so far), and I suspect that a few that I've seen mentioned will be very much out of my wheelhouse. After my initial head-spinning, eye-crossing, sinus-ghosting experience with Black House, I fell very much in love with Latakia-forward blends, so it's entirely likely that something similar could happen with ropes. So far, I've gathered that they're mostly produced by the Gawiths - Samuel Gawith/Gawith & Hoggarth - and that the black ropes are 'stoved', whereas the brown ropes are not, which in turn has some effect on flavor and relative levels of nicotine, but what would y'all recommend for a first-time rope smoker?

settersbrace

Lifer
Mar 20, 2014